In 2018, ST employees responsible for media affairs in 26 markets took a proactive approach, suggesting a range of topics for media stories. Among the events covered by TV, radio, online and print journalists were the Influencer Summit, the pop-up hotels and the first national autumn campaign. Switzerland Tourism ST’s Key Media Management (KMM) activities also include helping opinion leaders with their research and organising media conferences and press trips. ST conducted a total of nine international press trips in 2018. Media work generated 16,98 billion contacts.

The worldwide coordination takes place via an interactive newsroom. Through the regular training of employees responsible for media affairs, ST ensures the high standards and success of its media work.  

The four pillars of marketing
The marketing model for Switzerland Tourism ST is based on the four pillars of marketing. Specifically, the four main tools for this communication approach are Digital Marketing, Key Account Management (KAM), Key Media Management (KMM) and Promotion. In combination, these four main tools achieve the best possible impact for generating overnight stays. It is important that the different framework conditions and consumer behaviour in the various markets are taken into account.

 

Facts and Figures
Key Media Management   2018 2017
Media contacts bn 16.98 12.03
Media articles influenced   18,136 16,012
Participants in ST press trips   3,002 2,927
Media conferences   105 106
Top media results*   3,125 2,484
* Positive media pieces prominently placed, photos and tourism content that appeared in a key medium.

En 2018, les responsables médias de Suisse Tourisme (ST) ont réalisé un travail proactif qui a généré une importante couverture médiatique dans 26 pays. Télévision, radio, presse en ligne ou papier: les journalistes ont notamment contribué à la promotion du premier Influencer Summit, des Pop-up Hotels ou de la première campagne d’automne nationale. Par ailleurs, dans le cadre du Key Media Management (KMM), ST soutient les journalistes experts du voyage dans leurs recherches ou met sur pied conférences et voyages de presse. ST a ainsi organisé neuf voyages de presse internationaux en 2018. Un total de 16,98 milliards de contacts a pu être généré grâce au travail médiatique accompli.

La coordination internationale des thématiques passe par une salle de rédaction interactive appelée «newsroom». En proposant des formations régulières à ses responsables médias, ST veille à garantir la qualité et le succès de ses relations avec les médias dans le monde entier.  

Les «quatre roues motrices»
Le modèle de marketing de Suisse Tourisme (ST) est fondé sur «quatre roues motrices», qui sont ses quatre principaux domaines d’activités: Digital Marketing, Key Account Management (KAM), Key Media Management (KMM) et Promotion. Lorsqu’elles sont combinées, les activités de ces quatre domaines ont un impact maximum sur la création de nuitées. Dans ce contexte, il est essentiel de tenir compte des conditions-cadres et des comportements de consommation qui varient selon les différents marchés.

 

Faits et chiffres
Key Media Management   2018 2017
Contacts médias mia. 16,98 12,03
Articles médias influencés   18 136 16 012
Participants aux voyages de presse de ST   3 002 2 927
Conférences de presse   105 106
Résultats top médias*   3 125 2 484
* Couverture médiatique positive (placement à forte visibilité, avec visuels et contenus touristiques) dans un média clé.