Switzerland Tourism ST’s Paris office enlisted an ambassador with a highly unusual CV in summer 2021: Mike Horn. The extreme adventurer and explorer regularly pushes his body and mind to the limit in ambitious expeditions. He has climbed 8,000-metre peaks without oxygen, voyaged solo down the Amazon and circumnavigated the globe via both the South and North Poles, tackling ocean crossings and overland journeys in an adventure that lasted nearly four years.

In which month of 2021 did the greatest number of French visitors come?

  1. February
  2. July
  3. August
Your answer is correct. right
Your answer is nearly correct. right
Your answer is incorrect. wrong

22% of all hotel overnight stays by French visitors took place in August, followed by February (15%) and July (12%).

Repeat the quiz

Although Horn, who was born in South Africa, spends his time exploring the world, Switzerland has been his adopted country and French-speaking Switzerland his home since 1990. Mike teamed up with ST to record five short films entitled “La Suisse de Mike Horn” (Mike Horn’s Switzerland), in which he shared his take on Switzerland as a holiday destination. The films have racked up more than 1.6 million views: 50% on Mike Horn’s social media accounts and the other half on ST channels. The campaign generated 82 million marketing contacts.

The perfect guide for French visitors

The keen interest and media resonance did not come out of the blue: Horn is famous for his adventuring, has appeared on French television on several occasions and has a very successful YouTube channel of his own. “For this campaign, which started in France, we needed an ambassador who embodied the unbridled energy of outdoor activities in Switzerland and its varied landscapes,” explains ST spokesperson Véronique Kanel. Mike Horn might have been born for this role, and in conjunction with ST he made the ideal companion to get French visitors excited about the nature of Switzerland. Gilles Dind, Director Europe West, sees potential for the cooperation to be continued: “It was a great honour to have Mike Horn join us as an ambassador, and this will surely be just the start of our cooperation.”

Out and about in Switzerland’s natural paradise

The five films present the cantons beloved of French visitors as summer destinations: Vaud, Valais, Fribourg, Jura and Bern. Horn showed his favourite spots and explained what makes Switzerland such a breathtaking country and a true paradise for nature lovers like him. All the films show activities on offer in the respective regions. Links lead to hiking routes, excursion destinations or dining experiences. During the campaign, the landing page was the most visited page on the French version of MySwitzerland.com. In Switzerland, the French-speaking media 24heures and Tribune de Genève reported on the collaboration with the explorer.

Pour l’été 2021, ST a misé en France sur un ambassadeur au parcours hors du commun: Mike Horn. Cet aventurier de l’extrême et explorateur repousse régulièrement ses limites physiques et mentales dans le cadre de projets ambitieux. Il a gravi des sommets de 8 000 mètres sans oxygène, parcouru l’Amazone en solitaire et effectué un tour du monde de près de quatre ans via les pôles Sud et Nord, avec des traversées océaniques et des expéditions terrestres.

Même si Mike, qui est né en Afrique du Sud, explore le monde non-stop: depuis 1990, la Suisse est sa patrie d’adoption et la Suisse romande son lieu de vie. C’est pourquoi, en collaboration avec ST, il a présenté des lieux qu’il apprécie en Suisse dans cinq courtes vidéos intitulées «La Suisse de Mike Horn». Ces films ont été visionnés plus de 1,6 million de fois, dont 50% sur les propres comptes de réseaux sociaux de l’aventurier et l’autre moitié sur les canaux de ST. La campagne a permis d’atteindre 82 millions de contacts marketing.

Durant quel mois les hôtes français ont-ils été les plus nombreux en Suisse en 2021?

  1. Février
  2. Juillet
  3. Août
Votre réponse est exacte. right
Votre réponse est presque exacte. right
Votre réponse est fausse. wrong

22% de l’ensemble des nuitées hôtelières des hôtes français en 2021 en Suisse ont été enregistrées en août, 15% en février et 12% en juillet.

Refaire le quiz

Un tandem idéal pour les hôtes français

Le vif intérêt du public et l’écho médiatique de cette campagne ne sont pas dus au hasard: Mike est connu pour ses aventures, il a fait plusieurs apparitions à la télévision française et sa propre chaîne YouTube a un grand succès. «Pour cette campagne diffusée en France, il fallait un ambassadeur qui incarne toute l’énergie que procurent les activités de plein air dans la nature en Suisse et ses paysages si variés», a expliqué Véronique Kanel, porte-parole de ST. Mike Horn était tout désigné pour cette mission et a formé avec ST un tandem idéal pour séduire les hôtes français et les inciter à faire l’expérience de l’évasion sportive dans la nature en Suisse. Selon Gilles Dind, directeur Europe de l’Ouest, cette coopération a le potentiel d’accueillir une suite: «Ce fut un grand honneur de pouvoir compter sur Mike comme ambassadeur, et ce n’est certainement que le début de notre partenariat».

Découvrir le paradis naturel qu’est la Suisse

Les cinq vidéos font la promotion des cantons de Vaud, du Valais, de Fribourg, du Jura et de Berne, très fréquentés par les hôtes français en été. Mike y présente ses endroits préférés et explique en quoi la Suisse est un véritable eldorado pour les amoureux de la nature comme lui. Chaque film montre des activités à pratiquer dans les régions présentées. Ils sont accompagnés de liens vers des itinéraires de randonnée, des lieux d’excursion ou des expériences gourmandes. Pendant la durée de la campagne, sa page d’accueil a été la plus visitée de la version MySwitzerland.com en France. En Suisse, les médias romands 24 heures et la Tribune de Genève se sont intéressés à cette nouvelle coopération.