For three weeks, the shop windows of New York’s luxury department store Saks Fifth Avenue were dedicated to the cities of Bern and Lucerne, the airline SWISS, the Swiss Travel System and the Swiss summer in general. The location in the Manhattan district has a high footfall: the department store estimates a total footfall of 36 million in three weeks.

What was the percentage growth of the hotel overnights of North American guests over the last 5 years (2014-2019)?

0% 20% 50%

Move the slider to the correct position. Show result

Your answer is correct.
Your answer is nearly correct.
Your answer is incorrect.
20% 50%

Repeat the quiz

50 media professionals attend the launch event
To launch its cooperation with Saks Fifth Avenue, Switzerland Tourism ST organised a three-day event in the New York department store as well as its Toronto branch. Over 100 guests, including 50 journalists, accepted the invitation. At the same time, the campaign was promoted digitally on a Saks Fifth Avenue microsite, played on social media and distributed via e-mail and advertising banners. All told, these measures generated a total of 43 million marketing contacts.

Significant upswing for Summer and Cities
Cooperation with the luxury department store had a positive impact on the number of hotel overnight stays by North American visitors (US and Canada): according to the Federal Statistical Office, the number of hotel overnight stays in the summer months of 2019 rose by 8.8% to over 1.3 million (May to August 2019 compared to 2018). Such measures contributed to North Americans travelling to Swiss cities more often than average. The city of Lucerne was the frontrunner in the summer months of 2019 with an increase of 2% to almost 146,000 hotel overnight stays. Likewise, the city of Bern recorded an increase of 8.3% in the same period with a total of over 37,500 hotel overnight stays.

Pendant trois semaines, les villes de Berne et de Lucerne, SWISS, Swiss Travel System et l’été touristique suisse étaient sur le devant de la scène à New York, dans les vitrines du grand magasin de luxe Saks Fifth Avenue. Cet emplacement à Manhattan est très fréquenté: le grand magasin estime que 36 millions de personnes passent devant ses vitrines en l’espace de trois semaines.

Quelle a été l'augmentation des nuitées hôtelières générées par les hôtes nord-américains au cours des 5 dernières années (2014-2019)?

0% 20% 50%

Déplacez le curseur à la bonne position. Voir le résultat

Votre réponse est exacte.
Votre réponse est presque exacte.
Votre réponse est fausse.
20% 50%

De 2014 à 2019, l’Office fédéral de la statistique a enregistré une hausse de 46,6% des nuitées hôtelières générées par les hôtes nord-américains. 

Refaire le quiz

50 journalistes présents à l’événement de lancement
À l’occasion du lancement de cette collaboration avec Saks Fifth Avenue, Suisse Tourisme (ST) a organisé un événement de trois jours dans le grand magasin de New York et dans sa filiale de Toronto. Plus de 100 participant(e)s, dont 50 journalistes, ont répondu à l’invitation. La campagne a également été promue par le biais d’un microsite dédié de Saks Fifth Avenue, sur les réseaux sociaux, par e-mail et sous forme de bannières publicitaires. Ensemble, ces mesures ont généré plus de 43 millions de contacts marketing.

L’été et les villes en nette hausse
La coopération avec le grand magasin de luxe a eu un effet positif sur les nuitées hôtelières des hôtes nord-américains (États-Unis et Canada): selon l’Office fédéral de la statistique, au cours des mois de l’été 2019 (de mai à août par rapport à 2018) elles ont augmenté de 8,8% pour atteindre plus de 1,3 million. Ces mesures ont notamment encouragé les Nord-Américains à visiter les villes suisses plus souvent que la moyenne. Lucerne a été la ville la plus fréquentée durant l’été 2019, avec près de 146 000 nuitées hôtelières (hausse de 2%). Durant la même période, Berne a enregistré une augmentation de 8,3%, soit un total de plus de 37 500 nuitées hôtelières.